New Writer’s Circle

As of yesterday September 1st, 2011 I am now a member of the CMU Writing Circle. I’ve been looking for a writer’s group in my area for quite some time, and until now there was only an undergraduate group available thru the local university.
Now however there is an open group that accepts community members and has a decently large number of graduate students & other older adults.

It felt like a great fit!

I will share with you one of the quick writing prompts we used to get the meeting started. Next circle we will actually begin work shopping pieces.

Poetry Prompt #2 Pick five words randomly from the dictionary. Write a stanza in which each word appears. (I chose to write a paragraph, since poetry isn’t really my thing.)

It was such an inopportune moment to realize I’d neglected to conserve my advance responsibly. The glow of the ATM on 3rd & Bank informed me nonchalantly that I was now totally penniless, & Mason’s men were wearing latex gloves that spoke of ill happenings should I not cough up the eight grand I owed my bookie.

Now – can you guess which 5 words were the random ones!?

Published in: on September 2, 2011 at 11:42 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nsfwords.wordpress.com/2011/09/02/new-writers-circle/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

